CrossReads Spotlight Feature: Lady

CrossReads Spotlight Feature: Lady

CrossReads Spotlight Feature

Lady

by Tamara Leigh

Lady

HE WAS THE VILEST OF MEN
Lizanne Balmaine has spent years honing her skills at arms, determined she will never again be at the mercy of any man. When she comes face to face with the one who stole her future, she seizes the opportunity to exact revenge. Soon he is her prisoner, at her mercy. But something is different about him, something that makes her question her purpose. Is it possible a man can be so changed? More, can she right the wrong that could lay ruin to her family?

SHE WAS A QUESTION NEVER BEFORE ASKED OF HIM
Ranulf Wardieu does not seek a bride, nor a settling of scores when his mission for the king places him in the path of a beguiling, raven-haired maiden. But fascination turns to fury when she imprisons him. Accused of wrongdoing, the nature of which she refuses to reveal, he discovers the lady is as skilled at wielding a sword as she is at verbal sparring. When he bests her at her game and his jailer becomes his captive, he is determined to learn what wrong he has done her. However, as they engage in a battle of wits and wills and he glimpses her woman’s heart, he discovers Lizanne is a question never before asked of him—one his own jaded heart refuses to answer.

Amazon Buy Button

CrossReads Short Takes: Finding Faith & If I Run

CrossReads Short Takes: Finding Faith & If I Run

CrossReads Short Takes

Finding Faith

by Melanie D. Snitker

Finding Faith

Single mom Serenity Chandler is determined to do anything to provide better opportunities for her son, Gideon. Moving away from her family support system so Gideon can attend a special school seems like the right choice, even if it means her entire life is about to change.

The satisfaction of helping children and being a part of their lives is one reason Aaron Randall loves his job as a music therapist. When Hope Academy instills a dating policy, he doesn’t give it a second thought. Until the new coworker who’d caught his attention turns out to be the parent of one of his students.

Any relationship between them will put his job at risk. The more time Aaron spends with Serenity and Gideon, the harder it is to ignore what they could have together. With Aaron’s job and Gideon’s education hanging in the balance, they’ll have to rely on faith to find their way.

Finding Faith is the fourth book in the Love’s Compass series.

It can be read on its own, although it does contain spoilers for the previous books.

This is a sweet, Christian romance novel.

Amazon Buy Button

Page Divider

If I Run

by Terri Blackstock

If I Run

Casey Cox’s DNA is all over the crime scene. There’s no use talking to police; they’ve failed her abysmally before. She has to flee before she’s arrested . . . or worse. The truth doesn’t matter anymore.

But what is the truthThat’s the question haunting Dylan Roberts, the war-weary veteran hired to find Casey. PTSD has marked him damaged goods, but bringing Casey back can redeem him. Though the crime scene seems to tell the whole story, details of the murder aren’t adding up.

Casey Cox doesn’t fit the profile of a killer. But are Dylan’s skewed perceptions keeping him from being objective? If she isn’t guilty, why did she run?

Unraveling her past and the evidence that condemns her will take more time than he has, but as Dylan’s damaged soul intersects with hers, he is faced with two choices: the girl who occupies his every thought is a psychopathic killer . . . or a selfless hero. And the truth could be the most deadly weapon yet.

Amazon Buy Button

CrossReads Book Spotlight: Remember to Forget: Clean, Contemporary Christian Romance

CrossReads Book Spotlight: Remember to Forget: Clean, Contemporary Christian Romance

CrossReads Book Spotlight

Remember to Forget:

Clean, Contemporary Christian Romance

by Debra Ullrick

Remember to Forget

Her brother tricked her!

When Shianne Sumner’s brother asks her to help an elderly man, she can’t refuse. When she arrives at his house, she is not only shocked to discover that the man isn’t old but that the help he needs is delivering packages to a children’s hospital. Unable to let him or the children down, she puts her fears aside and takes him. Once there, her worst fears are realized. Fearing for Jude Bradford’s safety, she is relieved when he hires her to help him. The more time she spends with him, the more her feelings for him grow. Having been abandoned once before because of her hideous scars, Shianne refuses to give in to the demands of her heart for fear that Jude will flee, too, once he sees her face.

After an accident, Jude Bradford is sightless. When his best friend, Owen, who has been staying with him, is called out of town, Owen sends his sister, Shianne to help him. Since it’s the holidays and help is hard to find, Jude talks Shianne into working for him. The more time he spends around her, the more he is drawn to her. Can he convince her he’s not like the others? That a scarred face or a missing limb doesn’t matter to him? Or will her fears of him fleeing once he sees her face keep her from returning his love?

Amazon Buy Button

CrossReads Short Takes: A Man She Can Trust & Forclosed

CrossReads Short Takes: A Man She Can Trust & Forclosed

CrossReads Short Takes

A Man She Can Trust

by Roxanne Rustand

A Man She Can Trust

Pregnancy is the last thing on her mind

After all, isn’t that one of the reasons Grant walked out on her last fall? He couldn’t wait for her practice to settle down to have kids. Not to mention, her husband couldn’t seem to commit to one woman. It seems next to impossible that one night of stupidity could lead to her becoming pregnant. She still can’t forgive him, but Jill has to tell Grant he’s going to be a father.

As if Grant’s return wasn’t hard enough, the man has provoked someone else—someone who won’t stop the phone calls, the threats.

As much as she hates it, Dr. Jill Edwards’s life may depend on her estranged husband.

Amazon Buy Button

 

Page Divider

 

Forclosed

by Traci Tyne Hilton

Forclosed

Mitzy Neuhaus is the top selling Realtor in Portland, but even her office is dead in this economy. Foreclosed is the word no homeowner wants to hear and Mitzy is determined to save the incredible mansion on her street from that fate. But with the homeowner desperate to keep Mitzy away from his property and Alonzo, the dangerously hot rival investor trying to snatch it out from under her, Mitzy knows she has to work fast, or the economy won’t be the only thing dead…

Enjoy this cozy Christian Mystery for free today!

Praise for the Mitzy Neuhaus Mysteries

A fun cozy mystery. The lead character, Mitzy Neuhause, is what one would get if Legally Blond were about real estate. She is well-intentioned, beautiful, slightly clueless, and really, really good at what she does – which is selling homes in Portland, Oregon.

The fun begins when she butts heads with a local commercial property real estate agent over a stunning and mysterious Victioran mansion.
The next thing you know Russian royal jewels are being discussed and the Russian mob may, or may not, be involved. Mitzy needs to keep her faith, her head, and her big, blonde, 80’s hair in place in order to bring everything to a happy ending.—Jane Wells, author of Glitter in the Sun

Foreclosed is a thoroughly entertaining and superbly plotted debut novel from Traci Hilton. The book approaches the genre of mystery from an unusual but extremely engaging setting: the world of real estate.

And alongside the book’s delightful protagonist Mitzy Neuhaus, the reader loses himself in the grandeur and enigmatic qualities of the stunning mansion that the author so authoritatively conveys.

The chemistry between Alonzo and Mitzy is apparent from their first encounter and adds a layer of tantalizing romance to the book; their chemistry is electric and their battle of wills really brings the book’s main plot to life.

But it is Mitzy who deserves the greatest plaudits. She is an emotionally engaging character with an incredible amount of depth; resourceful, polite, entrepreneurial and caring, she is the book’s main attraction and could quite easily sustain a lengthy series of mysteries that the book’s many readers would enjoy.

Finally, the author’s writing must receive its deserved praise. Often with light reads such as Foreclosed, the writing can be suspect. But Traci Hilton displays effortless control and command of language. A highly recommended read. –A. S. Anand author 2032

Amazon Buy Button

CrossReads Book Spotlight: The Matchmaker Project BOXED SET

CrossReads Book Spotlight: The Matchmaker Project BOXED SET

CrossReads Book Spotlight

The Matchmaker Project BOXED SET

by N. G. Simsion

The Matchmaker Project

Fans of Richard Paul Evans, Nicole Williams and John Green will love this novel!

Book 1:
Ollie just wants one thing. The girl. Things haven’t been going so well with Anne lately, though; their relationship has become a perpetual study date, and Ollie’s roommates are starting to worry about him. How to fix things? Why, with a marriage proposal, of course. Unfortunately for Ollie, his relationship with Anne has run out of gas. Life feels like it’s counting down to one. And that one is the only person in Ollie’s life he really cares about: Ollie. Perhaps, then, he should get over himself.
But first Ollie has to deal with Aaron Sparks, the irritating little Yankees fan who invades his life in order to “help” him. And while Keith, his best friend, is doing all he can to help, Ollie’s other friend Richie never fails to show up and threatens to ruin everything just by being himself. Never mind all the drama Aaron brings to the party by forcing Ollie to take a job actually helping people in need. Will Ollie meet the girl? Will it be in history class? On a road trip to Colorado? Can he get over Anne, or should he try to mend the relationship? Should he pursue the new girl Aaron is trying to set him up with? As the strings of the puppeteer tangle with the strings of the heart, only one person can sort out the mess Ollie has made. It seems that the harder he tries, the more Ollie messes things up. Is Aaron a cruel manipulator, or is he really going to help Ollie find his match?

Book 2:
Keith already has the perfect girl. They just reached the “I love you” stage in their relationship, so why is Aaron Sparks following him around, insisting his love life is about to fall apart?
At first, Keith allows Sparks to tag along strictly out of curiosity, but when he realizes Sparks is right about his love life, he begins to rely on him for answers. Sparks proposes they play a little dating game—one where Sparks gets to make all the rules. As with everything he does, this “dating game” is a lot more complicated than it first appears. Will Keith play long enough to find true love? Or, will he reach his wits’ end before he can sort out his heart’s desires? Is Sparks even telling him the truth about why he wants to “help” him?

Book 3:
D was named after his father. Someday down the road, just like his dad, he plans to take over the family business and start a family of his own. There’s only one problem with that plan, though. He can’t seem to find the right girl. That’s where Sparks comes in—playing matchmaker and “helping” him every step of the way.
Things are never as they seem with Sparks, and D learns that lesson even more than any of his roommates. In the past, when Sparks was playing the role of matchmaker with D’s roommates, Sparks was careful to keep his personal life private, but all of that is about to change. When things spin out of control, will D still be able to find his perfect match? When Sparks’ personal life intertwines with their own, will D and his roommates finally understand why Sparks is so eager to help?

Amazon Buy Button